

South Carolina House of Representatives Legislative Oversight Committee

Chair Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson

First Vice-Chair Chris Wooten

William H. Bailey
Gary S. Brewer
April Cromer
Kambrell H. Garvin
Leon Douglas "Doug" Gilliam
Thomas Duval "Val" Guest, Jr.

William M. "Bill" Hixon Joseph H. "Joe" Jefferson, Jr. Wendell Keith Jones Roger K. Kirby Josiah Magnuson John R. McCravy, III Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis Adam M. Morgan Travis A. Moore Russell L. Ott Marvin R. Pendarvis Marvin "Mark" Smith

Lewis Carter
Director

Cathy A. Greer
Administration Coordinator

Roland Franklin Legal Counsel Riley E. McCullough
Research Analyst

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building

MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, June 6, 2023 10:30 a.m. Blatt Room 110

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. Chair Chris Wooten called the Law Enforcement and Criminal and Civil Justice Subcommittee meeting to order on Tuesday, June 6, 2023, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. In addition to Chair Wooten, Representative William H. Bailey, Representative Kambrell H. Garvin, and Representative Jeffrey E. Johnson were present for all or a portion of the meeting.

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

Approval of Minutes

Approval of Minutes

I. Representative Wooten makes a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the August 9, 2022 meeting. A roll call vote is held and the motion passes.

Rep. Wooten's motion to approve meeting minutes.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Wooten	✓		
Rep. Johnson	✓		
Rep. Bailey	✓		
Rep. Garvin	✓		
Rep. Gilliam			✓

Discussion of the South Carolina Workers' Compensation Commission

- I. Chair Wooten calls the meeting to order and ask the Members to introduce themselves. Chair Wooten notes that Commissioner T. Scott Beck is the only representative of the Commission present who was sworn in at the Thursday, March 9, 2023 public input meeting. Chair Wooten requests that any additional agency representatives that may address the subcommittee step forward and introduce themselves to the subcommittee. After the introductions, Chair Wooten swore in Executive Director Gary M. Cannon, Wayne Ducote (Director of Insurance and Medical Services), Christy Brown (Director of the Self-Insurance Program), Sonji Spann (Director of Claims), and Amy Bracy (Judicial Director).
- II. Commissioner Beck began the presentation with an introduction and overview of the Commission. Topics of discussion and presentations from agency representatives included the following:
 - a. The statutory authority, membership, duties, and salaries of the Commission;
 - b. The role of the Executive Director;
 - c. The Insurance and Medical Services Department;
 - d. The Claims Department;
 - e. The Judicial Department;
 - f. Types of claims; and
 - g. Types of benefits.

Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.